behind the book titles

more than you might think!

< back to blogs >


If you’ve already read the first book in the Devolve series, you’ll understand why it’s titled ‘The Wolf’. And the fact that the second book is to be called ‘The Bug’ probably didn’t come as much of a surprise, either. In fact, I bet you could probably guess the title of the third book.

Yes, you’re correct.

The books are named after the three classes that make up a typical squad from the Burrows. But thankfully, there’s a little more to it than that.

Much like the number of people in a surface squad, the book series also comprises of a total of six – two Wolves, two Bugs and two Cats. Though in this case they’re stories, not specifically people. Aside from the main storyline (which can be summed-up by the title of the book), you’ll also hear from/about the origin of the class.

The first book tells two Wolf tales (though in quite differing levels of detail) which eventually link together. For starters, the main storyline tells the coming of age of the ‘Little Wolf’, Foren. But we also hear the story about the original Wolf, from where the Wolf class was born. As I said – their stories eventually link together, so it’d be a spoiler to some if I said any more.

As you’d expect, the second book in the series, ‘The Bug’, follows a similar build. If you’ve seen the short synopsis, you’ll know that the main storyline revolves around a blister bug infection threatening the Burrows. And secondly, you’ll find out all about the original ‘Bug’, whom the class is named after. How the two mix together? Well, I guess you’ll find out.

As far as book number three is concerned – I bet you have a few ideas already!


< back to blogs >

burrow deeper